Friday, January 10, 2014

The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates by Caroline Carlson

Good day, Dear Readers,
Aaargh! Ye book of the week is none other than The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates: Magic Marks the Spot written by Caroline Carlson. I laughed out loud several times while reading this swashbuckling tales of a young girl who dreams of a life of piracy instead of having to attend a board school for girls where she will learn how to knit, feint, and dance. Of all things. The characters are enchanting, and the story will carry you along on a grand adventure.

Plus, there's some fun to go along with the book. Follow the links below.
Happy Reading,
The Queen

~~~*~~~

Author: Caroline Carlson
Illustrator: Dave Phillips

Book Information:

Publisher and date: Publisher: HarperCollins (September 10, 2013)
Reading level: Age Level: 8 - 12 | Grade Level: 3 - 7
Book Info: Hardcover: 368 pages
Genre: Mid-grade chapter book
ISBN: 978-0062194343


Book Theme:
Pirates, Magic, Dream, Going after your dream, bravery,







Book Summary
September 10, 2013 
Pirates! Magic! Treasure! A gargoyle? Caroline Carlson's hilarious tween novel The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1: Magic Marks the Spot is perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society.
Hilary Westfield has always dreamed of being a pirate. She can tread water for thirty-seven minutes. She can tie a knot faster than a fleet of sailors, and she already owns a rather pointy sword.
There's only one problem: The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates refuses to let any girl join their ranks of scourges and scallywags.
But Hilary is not the kind of girl to take no for answer. To escape a life of petticoats and politeness at her stuffy finishing school, Hilary sets out in search of her own seaworthy adventure, where she gets swept up in a madcap quest involving a map without an X, a magical treasure that likely doesn't exist, a talking gargoyle, a crew of misfit scallywags, and the most treacherous—and unexpected—villain on the High Seas.
Written with uproarious wit and an inviting storyteller tone, the first book in Caroline Carlson's quirky seafaring series is a piratical tale like no other.


Activity Adventures:


From Amazon.com Review
Pirate-iquette Tips: Brought to you by The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates and Caroline Carlson

PIRATE-IQUETTE TIP #1: “A good pirate doesn’t run away from nefarious scoundrels—she confronts them.”
PIRATE-IQUETTE TIP #2: A pirate simply can’t abandon her mates.
PIRATE-IQUETTE TIP #3: Pirates aren’t punctual. Most pirates arrive for treasure hunts and mutinies fashionably late.
PIRATE-IQUETTE TIP #4: Pirates keep their word. All others walk the plank.
PIRATE-IQUETTE TIP #5: Sword fighting is the same as waltzing—just with a more gruesome conclusion.




Once you've accomplished these swashbuckling tips, download your own Pirate Certificate

Crafty Ideas: Be A Pirate
Make hats and eye patches and learn to talk like a pirate.
Writing Prompts:
Write a letter of persuasion to the VNHLP on why they should allow you to join their league. OR If piracy isn't your thing, write a letter to Miss Primm's Finishing School on why you would make a great pupil. Remember, being able to knit, feint and dance are all in your favor.
Here are some lesson ideas and printables that might help you with this.

Lesson Activity Idea:
Learn about Maps and how to create them.

Places you can get lesson ideas for teaching about maps:
National Geographic
National Education Association


Authors Arena


Caroline Carlson is the author of MAGIC MARKS THE SPOT, a funny and fantastical seafaring adventure for young readers. She grew up in Massachusetts and holds a BA from Swarthmore College and an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts.
Caroline lives with her husband in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, amidst many stacks of books.

Want to know more, check out this interview with Caroline Carlson.




1 comment:

  1. I am loving the title and the cover! It sounds very interesting, Jackie!

    ReplyDelete