Monday, February 13, 2012

American Girl: Marie-Grace and the Orphans by Sarah Masters Buckey

Good day dear readers,
The Queen here with a book she wouldn't normally feature here at the Castle Library. The American Girl series has many books from various times in history and even a castle-full of merchandise to go along with it. But the couple of books I've read from the series have been exceptionally well written and quiet interesting.

So, if you have young princesses who enjoy a good history, here is a series that they might get wrapped up in. The stories are clean, stick to reality as much as possible and can tie in with social study and history lessons. Such as Marie-Grace and the Orphans. The story takes place during the time of slavery and shows what orphans of that time were faced with.

Book Title: Marie-Grace and the Orphans
Author: Sarah Masters Buckey                                                                                                               
Illustrator: Christine Kornacki

Book Information:
Publisher and date:Amer Girl (August 30, 2011)
Reading level: Ages 8 and up
Genre: Historical chapter book

Book Summary
From American Girl Publishers:
Marie-Grace can't believe what she finds on her doorstep one rainy night: a sweet little baby! More than anything, Marie-Grace hopes her father will let the child stay with them. Then a stranger comes looking for the little boy, and Marie-Grace realizes the baby is in terrible danger. Together, she and her friend Cécile come up with a plan to protect the child—and to help the other orphans, too. But when rumors of a terrible sickness begin to swirl in New Orleans, Marie-Grace begins to worry…will anyone truly be safe? Includes an illustrated "Looking Back" essay about orphanages in the 1800s. The story continues in the fourth book in the series, Troubles for Cécile.

Activity Adventures:

Check out the curriculum guide from American Girl publishers in pdf format. 

Research the history of orphanages. Who started them and why? How have orphanages changed from Marie-Grace's time up to present time? 

Authors Arena

Sarah Masters Buckey

Sarah Masters Buckey is the author of the Marie-Grace Gardner books: Meet Marie-Grace, Marie-Grace and the Orphans, and Marie-Grace Makes a Difference. She also wrote The Hidden Gold: A Marie-Grace Mystery. Sarah Masters-Buckey was raised in New Jersey and lived in Texas for 15 years. Growing up, she loved swimming and sledding—and reading lots of books! In sixth grade, she was thrilled when her first story was published in her school’s newspaper.

In addition to this latest work, Sarah has written a variety of other books for American Girl. Her Molly® mystery The Light in the Cellarwon an Agatha Award for Best Children’s Mystery.

Sarah was nominated for the Agatha Award in 2008 for A Thief in the Theater and in 2005 for The Curse of Ravenscourt. She was nominated for an Edgar Award in 2007 for The Stolen Sapphire.
Check out her other books and bio taken from American Girl Publishing

No comments: